6801 Glenview Drive
North Richland Hills,
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Food Handler Cards are required for all persons who handle food, utensils or food service equipment. All food staff members are required by law to obtain this permit within 30 days of employment in a food service facility. Employees, business owners and business operators are subject to citation if staff members are not trained. View more information on obtaining a Food Handler Card
. The cost is $21.00 or $8.00 for those 62 and older, cash or check.
The following options are available for obtaining Food Handler Cards:
Licensing of Food Handler Training Programs
*NEW* ANSI-Accredited Food Handler/Food Managers
Online Food Handler Class
Senate Bill (SB) 582 of the 84th legislature (2015) amends the Health and Safety Code to establish that a food service worker trained in a food handler training course accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is considered to have met a local health jurisdiction's training, testing, and permitting or registration fee requirements and has reciprocity throughout the State of Texas. This certification must be kept on site at the food handler or food manager's place of business.
Watch a food handler video online in English or Spanish at your convenience and then visit the Neighborhood Services Department to take a short exam.
Click here to take the Online Food Handler Class now
In Person Food Handler Class
English and Spanish language classes are offered each month at the Neighborhood Services Department.
English Language Class Schedule
| Spanish Language Class Schedule
On-Site Food Handler Classes
Businesses requesting an on-site food handler class must have at least 15 employees needing certification. To schedule a class, please call 817-427-6650.
On-site food handler class form
Certified Food Manager
Every food establishment is required by law to have at least one person in charge that is responsible for supervising food preparation and services and has a valid Certified Food Manager certification approved by the Texas Department of State Health Services
Certified Food Managers must register with the city by bringing a copy of their state or national training certification to the new location of the Neighborhood Services Department, 6801 Glenview Dr., during normal business hours, Monday through Friday. The city will issue a photo ID that is valid for the duration of the state or national certification. The cost is $16.
There are additional requirements for facilities that serve alcoholic beverages.