Deferred Disposition

Deferred disposition is a method of having your traffic citation dismissed after satisfactory completion of a probationary period. During the probationary period, no additional convictions can be received and all requirements imposed in the deferral agreement must be satisfied. This will usually include payment of the fine and costs. Deferred disposition is authorized in Article 45.051 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.

Eligibility Requirements

  • You must request “Deferred Disposition” on or before the appearance date on your citation
  • You must not have had “Deferred Disposition” in the North Richland Hills Court within one year preceding the date of the offense on your current citation
  • You must waive your right to a jury trial
  • You must enter a plea of guilty or no contest to the charge
  • You must not receive another moving violation offense in the City of North Richland Hills within the deferral period (up to 180 days)
  • You must pay all amounts due are ordered or scheduled

Other Requirements

  • If you are younger than 25 years of age you will be required to see the Judge to request deferred disposition and you may be required to take a driving safety course as part of your deferral.
  • If you have a provisional driver’s license you will be required to take a DPS examination.
  • Defendants who receive a violation for speeding and were traveling more than 25 mph over the posted speed limit will be required to see the Judge to request deferred disposition.
  • Defendants who are traveling 90 mph or more will not be eligible for deferred disposition no matter the posted speed limit.
  • Defendants who receive a violation for Fail to Maintain Financial Responsibility involving an accident may not be eligible for deferred disposition.

More Information

Please contact the Court at 817-427-6700 if you think you qualify for Deferred Disposition and would like more information.

Failure to Comply

If you fail to comply with any one of the requirements of the Deferred Order, a final judgment of “guilty” will be entered, and the violation will appear on your driving record with the Texas Department of Public Safety.

If you request “Deferred Disposition” and fail to send the correct amount due, or are not eligible for deferred, you will not be granted deferred and your check or money order will be used to satisfy the payment of the citation.